This is an archive page !!!

Henry Holt: A Short History

Copyright 1994 Henry Holt & Co.,Inc.

Henry Holt & Company, Inc., one of America's foremost publishers, was founded in 1866. Based in New York City, Holt publishes approximately 325 books a year, including hardcover fiction and nonfiction; Owl Books (its trade paperback division); Henry Holt Reference Books; Books for Young Readers; Twenty-First Century Books; and MIS:Press and M&T Books (its computer books division).

Throughout its history, Holt has published such important writers as Robert Frost; A.E. Housman; Frederick Jackson Turner; Norman Mailer; Kurt Vonnegut; Philip Roth, to name a few. Holt's current authors include Pulitzer Prize winners Robert Olen Butler and David Levering Lewis; national bestselling authors Sue Grafton and Patrick F. McManus; Louise Erdrich; Michael Dorris; John Nichols; George V. Higgins; T.R. Pearson; and Thomas Pynchon.